Descendants of the sun: review

image

The recent hyperactive drama ‘Descendants of the sun’ a.k.a DOTS is one of my favorite dramas all time. At first I wasn’t very keen to it even though I love Song Joonki and have watched everything he is on. This was his comeback drama and it just opened him many gates to other countries. But he is not alone with the worldwide fame, Song Hye Kyo, Jingoo, Kim Ji Won and my personal favorite Onew of SHINee became worldwide sensations too. Why is that? Let’s look at the drama.

image

image

The setting is quite simple. A south Korean soldier and a doctor falls in love while saving lives in a fantastical country called Uruk. But why did it become this sensational? Song Joonki who plays Captain Yoo Si Jin meets Doctor Kang Mo Yeon (Song Hye Kyo) when his fellow soldier/best friend and bromantic partner Sergeant Major Seo Dae Young (Jingoo) gets his phone stolen by a thief they beat up, when sent to the hospital. For Si Jin it is love at first sight and for Mo Yeon it is annoyance at first sight. Of course she can’t take her eyes away from that walking talking male candy, but she doesn’t show her favorability. They play a cat and mouse game for a while. Si Jin is a sent on a vacation to Uruk where they have to practically look after the war zone. Mo Yeon and her team of meds are sent to Uruk as well to care for the people there. Some coincidence that is, heh. Among the docs is Dr. Lee Chi Hoon (Onew) who is a carefree chaebol who learns how to be a correct doctor the hard way.

image

Now let’s discuss the real reason why I fell for this drama. I’m normally a sucker for army movies and dramas. There’s something really really manly about a soldier and that is sexy. Many people know about my love for army soldiers. And this drama did army right, especially Si Jin’s alpha team and platoon. I really love the guys close bond. I also especially love Seo Dae Young’s way in this drama. He would be my favorite army soldier in this drama.

image

image

I actually fell for this drama because of Seo Dae Young’s and First Lieutenant Yoon Myung Joo’s (Kim Ji Won) angsty love story. I wasn’t a big fan of Kim Ji Won and I haven’t watched Jingoo in anything, but their love story proved to be the reason why I gave up on my prejudice and watched it. Because of Dae Young’s lower rank, Myung Joo’s dad General Yoon didn’t want them to date, but that didn’t stop the star crossed lovers. When Dae Young keeps distancing himself, Myung Joo keeps running towards him. Finally he just came to her.

image

image

Apart from my definite love for the Goowon couple, while watching this I fell for Onew and his amazing portrayal of Lee Chi Hoon. I didn’t expect him to be this good, being an idol and the career-wise maknae. It was unbelievable that this was his first major role drama credit. I am fully expecting him to get the New Actor Award. I’m very positive he would get it. Him or Ji Soo…. Er.. Anyway, because of this I became a HUGE SHINee fan and especially a die hard fan of Onew. Everyone knows about that now. I mean he has a bloody amazing voice that is so strong and powerful that it sends chills down my body. And let’s not forget how adorable he is. Plus he’s SHINee’s leader. And the Onew condition, who can forget that…. And I’m going terribly off topic. Anyway, Onew is a very very VERY rare gem that should be valued. And there this little fact that Onew looks a lot like Song Joonki.

image

Finally I want to say, DOTS is a major drama, making Jingoo and Onew breakout stars and using SJK for more than a flower boy role. This drama is a must see if anyone hasn’t watched it. Plus it brought the best rates KBS has ever seen. A plus plus drama. Salute!

image

I’m a kdrama addict and this is my jam..

Leave a Reply

